Lessons from Icarus

Just another WordPress.com site

#25: Sometimes babbling is good.

Today is 1 January 2012.  I finally for real got out of bed and put my contacts in at 1:37 in the afternoon.  It’s Sunday.  I’m supposed to meet up with people this afternoon but all I really want to do is get caught up on my own stuff.

I’m sitting at my desk.  I’m settled by a window and I look out over a little courtyard and the backs of my neighbors’ apartments.  Beyond rise larger apartment buildings.

I don’t have curtains.  I probably should.  I know that I’ve given countless shows at this point.  But, I really love the light.  And I love thinking about all the lives inhabiting all those windowed rooms.  It kind of blows my mind sometimes.

Last night, as what happens on New Year’s Eve, the conversation turned towards resolutions.  Funny enough, the conversation quickly turned away.

Every year, I make the same resolution: to be the best “me” possible.  I don’t succeed at every moment.  But, given my brutal personal honesty, I am the first to admit when I don’t.  I suppose the moral though, is that since I started doing it at fifteen, I’ve realized that as I’ve gotten older, it’s made me a pretty happy person.

Someone remarked the other day that I giggle a lot.  I like to laugh.  I believe life’s too short to not laugh.  And, I don’t know how many people realize this but, life is pretty hysterical.

One thing that makes me sad are the people I know who don’t laugh regularly.  That’s the kind of thing that would really depress me if I let it.  It certainly has before.  And then I’m not laughing.

This is sort of a meandering of thoughts, I suppose.  I do those well.  It’s also a warm-up for the rest of the afternoon.  I have a lot of writing to do today.  I’m also posting photos and videos.  Get excited.

Soundtrack: the insanely annoying clanking of the heater

No comments yet»

Leave a comment